Siquijor Island, Philippines

Siquijor is a small island in the Central Visayan region of the Philippines. I’ve been there quite a few times because this is my boyfie’s home town and I get to tag along for family events and stuff.

Siquijor is known for its inviting white sand beaches. But even though everybody knows that, most of the people I know haven’t actually been there, or have no intention to go. Maybe because Siquijor is also known for sorcery and dark magic.

But in the few times that I’ve been to the island, I haven’t noticed anything of the sort. The picture above is just a pig’s mandible taken from the town fiesta’s most anticipated food — lechon baboy. The only weird thing that I have noticed, maybe, is that their chickens have beards.

I don’t even know if this is truly weird, because most of the chickens I see come with yummy crispy coatings.

Anyway, in my humble opinion, I think Siquijor is just normal. Although I haven’t been to every corner of the island so I really can’t verify that. And some stores do sell “love potions”. But in my own experience, I see normal everywhere. From the island’s port, which is white sand by the way (how cool is that?)… to the  extravagant vacation houses littered along the road (not the scary shanty houses from the horror movies, but big mansions)… to the exquisite beaches (some of them you could go in for free)… to the welcoming people (locals and foreigners from all over the world)…

It really is a great place with great views and great people who can cook great food.

I want to explain more about the picture above. There was this fruit tree right beside boyfie’s house. It had pink bell-like fruits on it. It’s called “tambis” in the local dialect. I don’t know what’s its called in English but for sure this belongs to the genus Syzygium. The one in the picture is just one of its many species which includes Syzygium caryophyllatum, Syzygium graeme-andersoniae… Oops, I didn’t mean to sound too geeky.

The point is, can you resist not eating one of these?

Now I’ll stop with the blabbing and start telling you useful information about Siquijor. These are some of the places that I’ve visited while I was there. And you’d probably want to check them out too.

1. San Isidro Labrador Church and Convent

This is a really old structure located in the town of Lazi. The convent, which is located across the church is said to be the oldest in the country. I don’t know much about the history. So I will refer you to this website: http://siquijortour.com/blog/tourist-spots/lazi-church-and-convent/

2. Cambugahay Falls

Another tourist attraction in Lazi. You’ll have to go down more than a hundred stone steps to get to the cool crystal waters. The current here isn’t strong but the water is deep. So you can try the swing rope and be like Tarzan for a few seconds before you drop into the water.

3. Triad Cafe

Great place to be if you want to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Here everything is peaceful and the air is so fresh because it’s located on a hilltop in the town of Larena. From here you get an unobstructed view of the seascape below.

4. Enchanted Balete Tree

This is a colossal century-old tree in Lazi which is said to be enchanted. So mind your behavior when you visit, unless you want to be jinxed. At the bottom of the tree is a small pool of cool water where I often see little children bathing or moms doing laundry. And there are even small fishes living there. I’m not sure if my theory is right but maybe… FISH + LAUNDRY SOAP + ENCHANTED = OKAY. Correct me if I’m wrong, as I said, it’s just a theory.

You could try dipping your feet into the water. The small fishes are really curious and they swarm around your feet instantly, nipping playfully at your toes. It’s supposed to be therapeutic, I’ve seen people paying insane fees to try this in malls. But this one you get for free.

5. The Beach

When you’re in Siquijor, this is absolutely one place you can’t ever miss out on. There are famous beach resorts there like Salagdoong and Coco Grove but I think all the beaches there are perfect — virgin beaches with pure white sand and no overcrowding — the perfect getaway.

I’ve given you a tour (an incomplete one) of Siquijor’s attractions. I realize I was mostly just advertising the town of Lazi. Which could be explained simply by a few words: “this is boyfie’s hometown”. So while I’m at it, I might as well throw in these magnificent sunset images taken from the Port of Lazi. I hope you find it as impressive as I did. ♥

So what are you waiting for? Tara na, biyahe tayo! 

Leave a Reply

