Climbing Mt. Talinis, Negros Oriental

Mount Talinis, standing at more than 6000 feet, is the 2nd highest peak in Negros. It was my first major climb, well, my first “real” climb to be exact. And I tell you, 6000 feet is NOT easy-peasy. The mountain, as the name clearly signifies, is not a simple stroll on a mossy forest bed. There were jagged rocks, steep slippery slopes, and mud. But it was kinda “okay” for a beginner like me.

The first part, though, was exceptionally hard. It was very steep and the pouring rain made the trail very slippery. I was wearing a poncho so I wouldn’t get wet but I got all sweaty underneath. Also, I kept stepping on the hem and it made me trip. So I took it off, I was already soaked anyway.

The path through the forest had lots of tall trees and thick leaves, sunlight barely reached through the thick forest canopy. Other than the gigantic ferns, I thought there were lots of other life forms out there. But what I only saw were a few worms, a rat the size of a full-grown cat, a moth, and a few insects. There were pretty flowers too.

The first stop over was at Lake Yagumyum. From the jump off point, it was a loooooong 4-hour trek. We had lunch here and a little nap to get ready for the next 3-hour-ish trek to the next stop over.

We made our camp at Lake Nailig. With the serene beauty of this place, you can meditate here if you bring your yoga mat. 😉 It’s not so windy here, maybe because of the surrounding mountains. But it’s crazy cold at night. I was wearing jogging pants, socks, a jacket, two layers of shirts, and a thick bonnet but I was still shivering. Also, boyfie and I shared a sleeping bag because we didn’t have time to buy another one. Bad idea. It was cold cold cold. Sharing is loving. But it won’t give you a good night’s sleep.

From Lake Nailig, it’s a one-hour climb to the summit. Below is a picture of me and boyfie at the peak of Mount Talinis ♥. There’s a giant tree growing horizontally at the very top. You can climb over it, it’s strong enough to hold up to 3 persons at a time. Be careful though, it’s breezy at the top and I felt the tree shake beneath my feet. It was sunny when we got there but there was a hint of fog at the distance. Best to climb during good weather so you’ll get a nice view of the twin lakes at the foot of the mountain.

On the way down, we passed by the Sulfuric Lake. It was a great sight, with all the white-washed rocks and dead trees. But it had a really powerful odor that makes you want to throw up if you breathe in too much of the nasty air.

We spent an unexpected night at The Ranch. We were supposed to be home that day but we got delayed. If we continued walking, nightfall would come before we reach the city. We didn’t have head lights too so it would be really difficult. We decided in setting up camp rather than continue the trek in the dark. The Ranch is a convenient camp site, there’s a water source not very far from the area. The only thing to worry about are leeches. In fact, we found a fat one beside our friend’s tent. Yuck.

Because of the unplanned extra day, we were a little short on food. To solve that, we skipped one meal and went to the nearby Twin Falls to forget that we were hungry. The Twin Falls were two massive falls put side by side by Mama Nature. Sadly, I did not bring my camera because it wasn’t waterproof. Sigh.

The picture below is from another river (above Casaroro Falls) that we passed on the way down the mountain.

A trip is only as fun as your companions. (Thank you guys!)

♣♣♣

Special thanks to our guide, Sir Adrian!

Finally, it was back to Dumaguete City to eat non-canned food and quench our thirst (whoever invented Coca Cola, I salute you!).

And then it was bye-bye Negros Island.
See you next time when I visit Mt. Kanlaon!

More pix @ Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150933621841398.409242.659441397&type=3

10 thoughts on “Climbing Mt. Talinis, Negros Oriental

  1. hi! im planning to climb talinis this july. can you please share the cellphone number of your guide? thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

